The Future of The Social Makeover

My Pitch Video!

Hi everyone! For those who don’t know I am a creative brand designer and managing director at The Social Makeover Australia. The Social Makeover is a creative design agency with a passion for makeovers in all aspects of design. 

So far, the TSM journey has been a huge rollercoaster – ironically with many ups and downs. The Social Makeover have successfully:

  • Having the opportunity to work with clients internationally
  • Grown our social media online presence (specifically on Instagram)
  • Interacted and engaged with business groups across different regions and countries
  • Recently launched our new website

I will be using this opportunity to expand, grow and advance not only my skills as a creative designer, but also as a business owner.

Methodology 

How will I develop goals for the future of The Social Makeover?

I plan to create a 3 part podcast series on Spotify to document the future of The Social Makeover as well as discuss my personal business experience and hopefully educate others. My aim is to create and execute my dream business plan for The Social Makeover. 

My business plan will be based on my previous experiences so far and how it has shaped my present and how it can affect or advance the future.

Short: (Now to 12 months)

  • Develop and Design at least 2 websites
  • Enhance social media management skills 
  • Implement business strategy

Medium: (1-3 years)

  • Grow The Social Makeover team by implementing an employee/internship program.
  • Introduce and Discover PR Marketing
  • Develop a potential product or service

Long: (5-10 years)

  • Develop an app for a company
  • Work with big brands and influencers 
  • Have an office space with a solid creative team

By separating my goals into 3 parts, I will allow myself to discover and research ways to advance my business and get to know my limits. I will be focusing on realistic goals that will encourage me to move forward in my journey. Creating short to long goals will help myself visualise my end goal and of course – trusting the process. 

Suggest potential background research (academic and scholarly sources, news and media sources) Reflect on subject lectures to address the DA Focus

Not only have I made sure to reflect on subject lectures, I will be implementing many things I have learnt, such as the “Fail Early, Fail Often’ (FEFO) method to make sure I fail forward and stay consistent with my goals. 

“The Globe and Mail described it as “the stupidest business concept of all time.” Though “fail fast, fail often” may be counter-intuitive, this principle can be certainly useful. But you have to know how to fail properly.” (Rosman, 2018)

One of the most important things I have learnt so far is that research is beyond and there is no end point. Learning and growing is all a part of a business journey, and by this I will be using many resources that will assist my learning experience. Through the many sources I have found many that offer advice for small businesses, how goal setting is the key to success. Kappel mentions ‘The more time you spend describing and visualising your goals, the more likely you will be to actually achieve them.’ (Kappel, 2020) This will be one of my most important learning journeys to visualise and best achieve the realistic goals I have set. 

Provide a production timeline

DA’s public Utility

My digital artefact will be publicly available through Spotify for users to tune in whenever they like. The three part series will be shared on my business instagram as well as twitter for listeners to tune in and give their overall feedback. 

References

2 thoughts on “The Future of The Social Makeover

  1. Tiara Yangnouvong says:

    Hey Stella, love the girl boss vibes you’re giving, your DA idea is amazing and congrats on creating this brand yourself!

    Your da is very well structured and flows nicely where I can understand and follow on easily, you’ve really addressed the future cultures challenge well, where yours is a great example for me personally as I didn’t address it in depth like yours.

    Although I do feel like you could have provided more examples or pictures of some sources that may help you along your business growth. Also make sure to refer back to lecture materials and make links to how their concepts have influenced your plan in upcoming assessment task. Other than that, your DA seems exciting and I can’t wait to see how your business grows.

    To offer some feedback, you said that you were going to create podcasts for your DA, however I feel that a 3 part video or visual report would be a lot more better. Seeing as your DA will be about creating a business plan, to see it documented with visual evidence will not be more appealing/engaging towards the audience, but this method will allow us to imagine the full vision and story of your brand. You can also look back and refer to this business plan with more ease for your future business endeavours.

    Here’s a helpful website which could help you on how to create a visual report https://visme.co/blog/business-proposal/ which I believe will be the most beneficial to show the full process of your DA. You can almost treat it like a jorunal!

    Like

Leave a comment